Keeping It Real In Amerikkka

Keep it Real! What is keeping it real mean? The word real has so many levels of interpretation and definitions. The definition of the word real: existing as or in fact; actual; true. But in the street life it means so much more, but still the same. You would never think that a four letter word could mean so much in a under world of street life.I ran into a friend I haven’t seen in awhile and asked him how he was doing and with no hesitation he answered, “I’m aight just doing me keeping it real”. Instantly I knew what he was saying. Some would ask what does he mean and why would he say that. The way I see it is he means he’s just doing him. When you see some one being them self and not portraying an image they’re keeping it real. On the block you see to kids playing the dozens and one of the kids said, “I’m hard body in real I’ll never tell on another man”. Is that keeping it real in the eyes of the beholder I guess? But when does keeping it real turn into not being truthful to oneself?You take a person from the hood and asked him would he tell the truth if he witnessed a crime, and he would probably say no I would keep it real. How is that keeping it real when real means actual or truth? That may not be real in a since of telling what the truth is, but in the ethics of the street code that’s keeping it real. So many lives have been lost and so many crimes unsolved because people “keep it real,” but how is that helping us? How does that help us progress? I’ve been a victim of keeping it real when telling the truth seems to make me seem fake. Who draws the line when keeping it real goes to far?There’s a man on death row and for a crime he clearly didn’t commit and when asked why he wouldn’t tell the truth and let himself go free ha said, “tell on another man forget that I’m real.” Now why is being real so important in a world where so many people and things are not? Because some times being real is all you have. When you know nothing but of what’s in front of you then keeping it real, and being real is all you have and all you want to hold on to. Not everybody can keep it real. It’s hard standing for what’s wrong for a reason you think is right. In the end is it worth it who knows. Somewhere there is a mother, sister, and farther morning because someone is keeping it real. I often wonder if the reason behind this “keeping it real” is because people don’t really know what real is. If they did would they still act the same? It’s a hard and cold truth but I don’t know. If could go back and change some of the choices I made would I change it? Who knows but “keeping it real” and real are truly two different things. So next time someone says I’m real, or keep it real ask them, “How real?”
 


Leave a comment